top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCalista Marsh

Poetry: Pulling Teeth

I smile with my mouth closed tight

To trap deviant words inside

The preacher hisses between his fangs

The vipers tongue slays him

Sunday is the Lords day


On Monday’s I’m a compulsive liar

I pluck threadbare ends from my lips

The truth is so close

Maybe a surgeon could remove it

From the skin of my teeth


They are the barrier

I keep my walls up – except when they rot

Blacks seem weak, a push and they fall flat

But don’t bite your lip, they’re sharp

Piano lessons are on Tuesday


My week ends on Wednesday

Have you ever had a toothache?

The pliers slip and cut my gums

Blood tastes like soda now

I hear them say, drink that and your teeth’ll rot


I roll my tongue over those empty spaces

Searching for the parts of me that are missing…


Waiting to be Reborn.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Reservoir

The Reservoir explores the darker side of Australian history, with an emphasis on toxic masculinity and mental health in men in rural areas.

Space Doesn't Exist

A short story exploring relationships, isolation, and understanding our differences.

One Hundred Years

Based on the tale of "Rapunzel", this dark story is no fairy tale. TW: Abuse, Mental Illness, Sexual Assault

bottom of page